An average day in the life of a commuter student.

There is no such thing as an “average day” for a commuter student, but the themes remain the same: getting to class on time, attending extra-curricular activities, traveling home via mass transit while studying for midterms, etc. But, for reference, I will offer my experiences on an average Monday:

6:30AM: I wake up, eat breakfast, brush my teeth, and get dressed.

6:50AM: I leave my house. Depending on the weather, I either take the subway or walk. On this particular chilly Monday morning, I decided to take the subway.

6:50AM-7:25AM: I wait for the train. Eventually one shows up and dumps me about 100 meters from the main entrance to campus. I walk past several residence halls and cut through one of the main administrative buildings to get to my destination. On the way, I pick up my complimentary copy of The New York Times.

7:25AM-8:00AM: I arrive at the lecture hall. The class isn’t due to start until 8:00AM, so I read the paper until then.

8:00AM-8:50AM: Class begins at 8:00AM sharp. The professor drones on about the Industrial Revolution. I take notes on what I decide is important.

8:50AM-9:00AM: I walk to my next class, which is a short distance away.

9:00AM-9:50AM: Class. The professor lectures on how to program macros in Microsoft Excel. It is pretty dull stuff and I understand most of the material already. Instead of listening, I do my homework.

9:50AM-12:40PM: I go over to the library, heading over to a cubicle nearest a wall outlet so that I could charge my laptop. I spend the next three hours either studying or surfing the Internet my on laptop. Damn, do I love all this free time in between class!

12:40PM-1:00PM: I pack up and go to my next class. On the way, I stop at the vending machine to purchase a small package of animal crackers. This should last me until the end of the day.

1:00PM-1:50PM: Class, yet again. This time, basic courtroom procedures on lectured upon. I listen intently and scrawl notes on my notebook where applicable.

1:50PM-2:15PM: I leave campus and take the subway home, just as I did that very morning.

There you have it, a very average day to say the least. Stay tuned for more content!

2 responses to “An average day in the life of a commuter student.

  1. I read this piece of writing completely about
    the comparison of newest and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

  2. Thanks for another magnificent post. The place else may
    anyone get that type of information in such a perfect
    manner of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

Leave a Reply

